Tag Archives: Google+ Business Page

Connect Your Google+ Business Page To Your Google Maps Listing

Google has finally enabled owners with verified business pages to connect to their business pages to their local business listing on Google Maps. Honestly, it feels like we have waited longer than we should have to have this ability for this kind of¬†immersion. The confusion caused originally with having to register everything multiple times was unnecessary and it’s good to see Google making things a little more clear for the average and experienced user.

Google Business PageOn Google’s help page, Google gives the user detailed instructions on connecting your Google+ business page to your verified Google Maps listing. The process will connect your verified Google maps listing and your current business page together applying the business address, business information, business hours, Google Maps reviews, and more from the Google Maps side to your business page. Everything from the followers, posts, and managers of the Google+ business page will be retained.

Businesses with more than one business page within their manager page should find it easier as this process will combine two of the individual listings together.

Connecting your Google+ Business Page to Google Maps Listing

  1. Log in to Google+ and select Pages from the left-hand navigation menu and click Manage this page on the local page.
  2. The local page should look almost identical to your current page. This will include a verification shield next to the name of the page. If you hover over the shield, you should see ‘verified local business.”
  3. Click on Dashboard > Settings in the top left corner.
  4. Head to the “Profile” section. Next to “this page is connected to Google Maps”, click Connect a different page. This will allow you connect a different page.
  5. Select which page your like to connect to Google Maps in the “Link a different page to this location” dialog box.
  6. Once connected, you will see a list describing the changes to the newly-created page you’re connecting to the Google Maps listing, and the local Google+ page you’re disconnecting from Google Maps. If you’re ready, click “confirm.”

The new page connected to Maps will:

  • Display name and verification bade of former local page
  • Display all relevant business information
  • No longer display prior owner responses to local reviews
  • Carry over followers, posts, and managers
  • Carry over a custom URL if you’ve set one up

The former local page will:

  • No longer display on Google Maps
  • No longer display relevant local business information
  • No longer display reviews
  • Will be renamed “Backup of page name”
  • Still visible on Google+
  • Retain all followers, posts, and managers from the former local page
  • Retain custom URL if created from the former local page
  • No longer displays AdWords Express campaigns associated with the page